A call log, 6/21/2147

(The phone rings for a few seconds before the other end of the line picks up. For the first few moments, the audio stream is nothing but static, but it quickly clears up.)

1: Mom? Are you there?

2: Nino! How are you doing? Is camp going okay?

1: Mom, I need to talk to you. It’s about something important.

2: Does it have to do with camp?

1: No.

2: Miralay?

(The first line remains silent.)

2: You can tell me anything you want, dear. I promise I’ll listen.

1: Mom… (Heavy, strained breathing.) Mom, I need… I need…

2: What do you need, dear?

1: Mom, there’s this p-person named Petya here. He says he’s from Miralay and that he works for Amelia and he’s going to kill me and Amelia’s gonna attack Heavestone on Saturday and I just want to keep everyone safe and-

2: Where are you right now?

1: Main bathroom at Allonsy. No one else is upstairs right now. But-

2: Eponine. Take a few deep breaths.

1: (Labored breathing.)

2: Listen to me. This is very serious. I’m going to need to contact Sully at Limberstein, okay? I know she’s been ignoring you, and I know you haven’t been checking everywhere on the news. But I’m going to confirm that anything’s actually going to happen on Saturday. Can you wait?

1: Mom-

2: Yes, Eponine?

1: I… I just want to be human. I don’t want to have to deal with this. I don’t want Miralay to be my responsibility. I just want to be able to afford to turn a blind eye to Mordern and get a job and go to college and do all the other things that everyone else can do except for me because I’m the god damn Providence and Miralayans can’t do those things because Miralayans belong on Miralay-

2: Eponine. Take a few more deep breaths.

1: (sobbing) I can’t take this anymore, Mom!

2: Can I talk to Sully for a few minutes?

1: (still sobbing) Fine.

***

(A few moments of static, and then the call connects.)

2: Eponine, are you there?

1: (sniffing) Yeah…

2: Sully hasn’t been talking to you because she’s in the middle of a stasis chamber test.

1: She… she lied? She said she was working on top-secret things-

2: Maybe she didn’t want you to worry? But anyways, she’s just fine. I got on the phone with somebody else. There’s a small escape pod that’s supposed to impact on Earth sometime in the next six hours.

1: (Distressed.) What am I supposed to do about that?

2: Honey, it’s going to be okay… We’ll prepare to defend ourselves just like we’ve always done whenever Mordern decides to mess with us.

1: Wait-

2: It’s happened before. We haven’t survived a hundred years just by hiding alone. It looks like it’s just going to be one person, although if it’s really gonna be Amelia… I don’t know what to expect. But I’ll warn everyone right after this call.

1: What about me?

2: You’re not going to camp the rest of this week.

1: What? Why? I-

2: Because that Petya person is at camp, and I don’t want you to be anywhere near him. I’m going to report him to the police as soon as I can find a way to do so anonymously. Also, and I know you’re going to hate this, but just stay quiet until I’m done talking.

1: Okay.

2: (sigh) Okay. So I’ve been talking with Mr. Greenland. He’s agreed to keep you inside of Liv’s old sleeping pod until all this Miralay hoohah has passed. We can transfer all the books and games you need to stay occupied and offline away from where Mordern could possibly detect you, and we’ll have someone guarding the area at all times. Anything…

1: Mom?

2: Anything for my son.

1: Mom, are you-

2: I love you, Eponine. I hope you always know that. Your father and I smuggled you out of Miralay because we loved you and wanted you to be able to make choices in your life. And while we may not be able to do as much as normal Earthens since we have to stay hidden, just know that, no matter what path you choose in life, your father and I will be there to help you make it work. And if you have any problems with anything ever and need help, all you have to do is come to your parents.

1: T-thanks, Mom.

2: You don’t have to do any of this alone. Hell, you shouldn’t. We want to help you with your problems! But we can’t do anything if you don’t tell us anything. (A pause.) I’m going to send someone from Heavestone with a registered vehicle to pick you up. They’ll be there in about two hours. Think you can hold on until then?

1: I can do that. I’ll have to get someone else to do the newsletter, though.

2: I’ve already told the Director that you have a family emergency and might not make it the rest of the week. She’ll find someone. Now go get yourself packed up.

1: I love you, Mom.

2: I love you too.

Leave a Reply

