THE MEMERY: THE DAY BEFORE

Girl Scout Camp training happened today, and contrary to what I was expecting from previous years, there wasn’t a whole lot of “training” going on. Mostly, I stayed in Timbermeade (the main cabin) while the main director explained exactly how I was supposed to format the newsletter that I’m going to be in charge of, how I’m supposed to email the printing office to ensure that it gets formatted correctly, et cetera. Not much else happened.

Of course, I almost immediately lost track of the walkie-talkie I’d been assigned. It didn’t leave Timbermeade, I’m certain. But it seems to have disappeared into thin air. Hopefully somebody finds it before Monday, when I’ll really be needing it.

IMG_4413
Everyone kept erasing the “nothing” part for some reason. Somehow I think “Zorphs did wrong” doesn’t have the same ring to it.

Everyone else who was assigned to a unit like a normal person had to walk all the way to their unit and visit the archery range and ropes course and the local lake for a few minutes each so that they could get a general feel for the camp’s layout. It’s a bit disturbing when you’re whacking away at your laptop, desperately trying to switch the layout of the template you made to be landscape instead of portrait and an elderly lady seems intent on explaining the incredibly simple concept of the orientation having been wrong to you several hundred times, and then suddenly fifty sweaty bodies burst in from out of nowhere and start lumbering towards your general direction. Kind of like from some sort of cheesy zombie movie.

In addition to that, the picture quality on my camera seems to have inexplicably dropped dramatically. I’m not sure whether it’s the camera in need of a good reset or the fact that the 8 GB card I usually save for this kind of heavy-duty work is currently serving duty as a transfer bus for hacking the family Wii U back at home. No, I’m not going to be pirating Splatoon or anything else to make my brothers happy. I mean, I could, but being grounded isn’t on my list of things to get done.

But you know what is on my list of things to get done? More chapters for Living Wasteland. They’re coming, I promise, although they might be delayed the next few days because I’m sorting out issues with the possible endings I have planned. Massive indecision right now coupled with an unfortunate obligation to keep a Facebook account open to contribute to the camp’s group and page (which I still don’t have access rights to for some reason) does not make for an optimal writing environment. Plus I’ll be exhausted every day after camp, so don’t expect any more chapters for about a week or however long it takes to recover and return to a semi-tranquil state.

Leave a Reply

