summit

mountain

I now stand near the peak of a mountain I have spent a good three months climbing, hoping to an unnamed power that my walking stick doesn’t give out when I can see the prize at the top of the hill- a golden respite, a break from the stress and a smooth ride into the next major phase of my life.

I can’t tell if it terrifies me or soothes me that in twenty-four hours, this will all be over, that I will have four days to rediscover myself and be the person I hoped of being when I first entered this school. Maybe the time for first impressions is over, and I didn’t disappoint myself, but I certainly didn’t woo anybody over.

Maybe the sun will finally come out, and my fingers can thaw and renew a creation melded in the depths of winter.

Leave a Reply

