la nuna jaro

goodbye, 2016
nobody will miss you
except for uptight and self-righteous teenagers in the future
looking back on the year of memes with rose-colored glasses

you started off the whole endeavor
with a slap in the face from those we trusted first
will there ever be a Sunday not spent in rage
at the lighting and burning of a strawman?

Wonka, of all people, got a puppet in the office
with the best damn life insurance anyone has seen
have you seen my dress? I need to be a stereotype
in order to be accepted in this realm of identity politics

frogs are everywhere, like some kind of biblical plague
no, officer, I promise that I am not discriminatory
in the land of great divides, genuinely kind people have been devalued
in favor of a perpetually boot-stomping people

goodbye, 2016
cold assassin in the night with a blade and a bow
taking down multitudes in the public spotlight, whether famous or infamous
I’ll hide out in my bathroom, not the only space in my house, my life
that always has and always will be neutral

Leave a Reply

