vivir

I spent two hours in a church
on the first day of this month
I was supposed to be remembering a dead family member
who I will not mention here

“he’s in a better place now”
is a sentence I have come to loathe
but it is unfortunately unavoidable
in such a mournful place

I would rather experience the world in all of its pain
its joy, its suffering, its ecstasy
and, when I close my eyes at the end of the day
never feel a thing again

than live a peaceful life with no unrest
and then devote the rest of my soul’s existence
to the worship of a vengeful spirit
surely I was destined for a far greater end

Leave a Reply

