se mi estus

if I were a month, I would be October, for that’s where the sweet apathy of summertime slowly and finally fades away and dies as the reality of a new year of walls builds up
if I were a day of the week, I would be Friday, for sweet promises are whispered into the ears of lovers even though both parties know that they will be broken by Sunday
if I were a god or a goddess, I wouldn’t know who I would be, for I’d be everywhere and everything (and you’re nothing when anything can identify as you)
if I were a verb, I’d be “perturb” because no other word could describe your face as the snowflakes fell upon your rosy nose that lonely winter day
if I were a sea animal, I’d be a blue whale, for they spend their time singing underwater for their peers rather than bicker about arbitrary characteristics
if I were an object in a living room, I’d be a cup, for then I could repeatedly taste your lips as they seek sustenance of a different kind
if I were a gemstone, I’d be a diamond, for that’s your birthstone. I also hear that they’re a girl’s best friend, and God knows that I need more friends
if I were a flower, I’d be a rose, for them poets of both old and new would idolize both my lovesick cure and curse
if I were a kind of weather, I’d be a tornado, for lovelorn adolescent girls dream of me bringing a perfect partner on silvery wings without realizing the destruction done in order to fulfill a silly fling
if i were a color, I’d be burgundy, for it is the color of your hair dyed at Halloween and the hue of your pants the final time we ever saw each other
if I were a fruit, I’d be a lemon bringing essential refreshment in the summertime to the reluctant ones and yet too sour to consume straight up
if I were a sound, I’d be your sighs at three in the morning, full of unmet expectations and toxic adoration
if I were a taste, I’d be bittersweet, a malevolent substance lingering on your tongue far after the sweet sugar has faded away
if I were a scent, I’d be the cinnamon that you left behind the last time we spent the fringe hours alone together
if I were an adjective, I’d be free, because freedom isn’t just being able to sleep under any sky one desires but also not having to worry about the demons of the mind

Leave a Reply

