closure, part 2 (Argentina)

Come on, Argentina, this is what Samhain would have wanted. One foot in front of the other… that’s good, keep going…
“Argentina?” Mom inquired, hurt showing more clearly in her eyes than they were in mine, although hers was due to seeing her daughter depressed rather than actually experiencing a death. “Your dress strap is slipping.”
“Yeah, okay.” I readjusted it, dead center on my shoulder. Wouldn’t want to look crappy for the dead, now, would I? “Where’s the door to the morgue?”
“It’s right here. We’ve passed it five times because you were focused on all the cracks on the floor.” Taking my forearm, Mom gently pulled me into a dimly-lit room with a few doctor-looking people in surgical masks and heavy coats. “There’s a trash can by the door if you need to step out for a few moments.”
“No, mom, it’s okay.” Whatever those two people were supposed to be- is morticians the right word?- had already moved to the other end of the room, where they were fumbling with the keys to multiple drawers. It felt like an anvil had made itself nice and cozy in my stomach, and Mom let go of my forearm and too my cold and sweaty hand.
The morticians finally found the right key among twenty other keys and pulled open one of the drawers, pulling it out all the way to reveal a glimpse of a grayed body. “You ready?”
“Yeah, I guess.” Mom gently pulled me over to where I could see Samhain’s body, mottled with the same gray shades that we’d seen in the sky on the day she died. The bruise I’d left on her neck one lonely hotel night ages ago was still there, as was her halo of mussed blonde hair now limp and volumeless. I found a few of my fingers reaching towards her hand, maybe to feel if there was some semblance of the girl I had loved left, but Mom passed me a soft glance and I returned that arm back to my side. “So about Anders’ statement…”
“Oh, he was certainly lying.” The mortician on the left pulled down his surgical mask, revealing a wrinkled face not too long from his own death. “Everybody was lying, actually. Samhain definitely had something wonky going on with her cells, judging from how long it took the whole surgical suite to fulfill the donor status that her parents had set up without telling her, but not nearly so far as to make people immortal. Obviously.” If Samhain hadn’t been dead, she would have flinched from the blatant reference to her own mortality. “Maybe make them live a few more decades, I’ll give her that. We won’t know how long exactly until the lab gets back to us.”
“Gets… gets back?”
“Yes, we sent a few tissue samples overseas to see if anything useful could have been done with them. May I remind you that the trash can is by the door if you feel sick.
“Because I’m going to have time to hobble all the way over there.” Sinking to my weak knees, I covered my eyes with my fingers, ragged fingernails leaving little scratches on my forehead.
“Her parents were invited to come here as well, but they declined. Something about having priorities, although I would think that their dead daughter would be most important at the moment. What a shame.” What a shame indeed.

Leave a Reply

