transitional, part 1 (Samhain)

I could almost see the sun peeking out through the towering pine trees framing the cracked and faded road beneath us, as if it knew that we were nearing uneasiness from yesterday’s visitor of the faceless rich person and was lighting out way there instead of signaling unsafe conditions for runaways. “Argentina? Are we almost there?”
“Almost, Samhain. Almost.” Argentina took her right hand off the steering wheel and slipped it through mine for a few seconds, her fingertips still feeling a bit fresh from having to remove the fake nails that she’d kept on as long as I could remember. My brain still blanked a bit every time I saw the pale and scratched-up tips, looking just like everybody else’s that didn’t bother with style at all. And now that I think of it, Argentina had gone a few days without makeup too. “By tonight. I promise.”
“You really promise?” The land had grown denser with trees and the roads had fell more and more in disrepair as today had unfolded, and now we were zooming past a state-sanctioned forest with skinny trees like giant spider legs in perfect rows. If I tilted my head slightly, I could even look all the way down the rows to reveal other people’s property dotted with cabins and farms of their own. What were their lives like? Did any of them have daughters, and what would they do faced with a terminal diagnosis? Because for all my talk about death sentences and how I felt like a prisoner to my own body, that’s what it really was- a cold medical statement that my body was mortally messed up and that medicine wasn’t advanced enough yet to do anything of worth. I had done nothing to gain this status, and thus hadn’t earned the same terminology as criminals.
“Why would I make a promise if I wasn’t sure?” We’d been on the run for five days, and it had gone nothing like our romanticized expectations. There was no merit in being disconnected from the world this way with nothing but a drive reaching forevermore into the future. “We’re less than five miles away from the cabin. Even if we went at walking pace, we’d make it within an hour.”

Leave a Reply

