rebirth (Argentina)

“Okay, mom. Yes, mom, I got the groceries. Yes, mom, I took Samhain home. Yes, mom, I love you too. Bye.” I hung up and tossed my phone onto the seat next to me, pretending that I hadn’t just broken at least three of my dad’s rules for driving his van in lieu of having a car of my own. Don’t use your phone at all while the vehicle is in motion. Don’t be talking to anybody who distracts you from concentrating on the road in front of you. And, no matter the circumstances, do not let that seizure-wreck of a monster Samhain into the vehicle.

It hadn’t been Samhain’s fault that her parents had been late from whatever consultation meeting they’d had to go to- Samhain had a lot of little medical complications going on at any given moment, although they weren’t enough to prevent her from coming to school with the rest of us from our little secluded pocket of the world. It was nice to know that I was trusted by at least one of my friend’s parents to take their precious child home, especially since my own parents didn’t trust me very much after the High Speed Car Chase incident of a few months ago.

“But that doesn’t matter that much anyways,” I muttered to myself, touching the car radio dial and seeing what drivel they were blasting over the airwaves this time. Every once in a while, whatever clueless person was running one of the only three radio stations available here actually wisened up and had a whole day in which they played something of substance, but the other ninety-nine percent of the time was just the same chord and dance beat repeated a few more hundred times. “You’d think that Dad would be a little more present in my life for how many rules he has for every single little thing.”

At this time of day, the sun was just starting to dip into the right place in the sky where it’d roast the eyes of every single motorist on the roads, but Samhain had lent one of her old pairs of sunglasses to me yesterday, asking only for them back when they didn’t fit me anymore and no money back. And, of course, there were a ton of people on the roads, either going home from school or work or heading to the late shift.

On the way home, the commercial district slowly bled into the residential one with a few spots of gas stations, Starbucks, and tangles of street lights. Suburban Wychester was never that crowded with building complexes, anyways. My parents grew up here and thought that it was the perfect place to raise a single child, so here I was, stuck in a place where things from buildings to prejudices rarely changed.

Leave a Reply

